A Twist on Spicy Orange Chicken

Spicy Orange Chicken was one the dinner menu this evening. Again, Pinterest was the source for my entree idea. I found this recipe through a pinning from a website: underthealmondtree.com. I had been thinking about trying to attempt to cook a real orange chicken, however, I have actually never had a Chinese orange chicken dish before. So, I was not too keen on cooking something that I never really tasted before. 

For the two months that I have been cooking for my dad and myself, I have not exactly followed a recipe step by step or ingredient by ingredient. I tend to add in my own things or make substitutions. 

First things first. I made sure to thaw my chicken. Then I created my marinade which consisted of:

4 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 an orange’s zests
4 tablespoons Chinese soy sauce
3 garlic cloves (I just used one piece of garlic)
3 tablespoons honey ( I just used whatever I had)
2 finely chopped chilies (left this out)
6 drops Tabasco sauce ( I used a splash of my Guy Harvey Jaws of Death Hot sauce)
5 sprigs fresh rosemary (I sprinkled rosemary leaves from my spice bottle)

*Addition: Simply Orange juice with pineapple. Just a splash.

Image

Image

I let the chicken marinade in the fridge for over an hour. Then, I started to preheat the oven at 450 F degrees. While the oven was heating up, I placed some olive oil in a skillet and then places the pieces of chicken in the skillet. I allowed this chicken to get a slight brown tint. Once the chicken got to a desired brown shade, I put the chicken in my stoneware with the leftover marinade, some cut up slices of fresh oranges, and placed it into the oven to sit there for 30 minutes. 

The flavors were quite delicious!


N-

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Under the almond tree
    Feb 26, 2013 @ 14:20:28

    Hi Natasha, nice to read your blog and I’m happy you tried the recipe for Spicy Orange Chicken. All the best from sunny Sicily/ Anna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

