Quiche Lorraine

Since the family has been back from South Africa, I have done zero cooking. So on Monday night, I decided to get back into the kitchen. The meal of the evening was quiche. I have cooked the dish a couple times before and once during the two months while the family was away. 

It’s funny because in the pictures of cooking blogs, as my friend Katie Hudson points out in her blog, they never show you the mess. For quiche, one needs to cook with flour. Me and flour always seem to make a mess. However, I did spare myself of the embarrassment of showing you folks how messy I can get. But believe, with my mom, I clean the kitchen immediately or there will be a price to be paid. 

Quick and simple recipe for a savory entree. One can add pieces of bacon, broccoli, cooked ham, slices of pepper; really anything extra, but I’m content with just cheese. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Quiche Lorraine

1 uncooked pie shell

2 eggs

1 1/2 tablespoons of flour

1/4 lb grated swiss cheese (or cheddar) *I used Extra Sharp Cheddar

1 teaspoon of salt

1 cup of milk

Dash of cayenne, nutmeg, and pepper. *I also add paprika. 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Put Cheese in bottom of unbaked pie crust.

Mix other ingredients and pour carefully over cheese.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.

N-

Leave a Reply

